Dynamic group management

Introduction

Dynamic groups dynamically evaluate dynamic group membership based on conditions defined for the dynamic group and user profile attributes.

Overview of steps

  1. Create dynamic group
  2. Review dynamic group
  3. Publish or discard dynamic group
  4. Update dynamic group
  5. Review updated dynamic group
  6. Publish or discard updated dynamic group
  7. Re-evaluate dynamic group membership
  8. Delete dynamic group
  9. Change in dynamic group membership based on user life cycle
  10. Re-evaluate user's dynamic groups

1. Create dynamic group

Navigate to Identities -> Users & groups -> Dynamic groups -> Create dynamic group

/images/6ae50eea6540c9a49198b638
  • General setup
    Specify dynamic group name, optionally add description of the dynamic group.

    /images/6ae50f0bb0b0778db1dc8703

  • Dynamic group condition
    Define dynamic group condition to dynamically evaluate membership. Select user profile attributes, appropriate operator and value for attribute to match with user profile.

    /images/6ae50f2b66275f797bde5b24

After the dynamic group is created, it waits in the queue to evaluate initial membership. As soon as the system starts evaluation of membership, dynamic group state changes to In progress and after the evaluation completes, dynamic group state changes to Review & publish.

2. Review dynamic group

Select the dynamic group from the list to view its details in the side panel:

  • General setup: Dynamic group name, description, and status.
  • Condition set: Click View Details to review the configured attribute conditions.
  • Dynamic group membership: Total count of users in the dynamic group.
  • Membership evaluation: Evaluation status, along with evaluation start and completion date and time.
/images/6ae50f4cd81328ca455e470e

Click Review & publish (from the details side panel or directly from the dynamic groups list) to inspect the evaluated users:

  • User(s) added
    View the list of users who get added to the dynamic group based on the defined conditions.

    /images/6ae50f6d230d27dcb7403de6

3. Publish or discard dynamic group

Click Publish to add the evaluated users to the dynamic group. After the dynamic group is published, the status changes to Active and can be associated across Verify flows.

/images/6ae50f8d033b03cd0fff1f81

4. Update dynamic group

To update the general details or condition set of a dynamic group, click the Actions menu icon ( ⋮ ) from the Dynamic groups screen and select Edit dynamic group.

/images/6ae50fae623e9f525e680502
  • Name, description and condition set of the dynamic group can be updated.

    /images/6ae50fcfae2b94bcd95d6d04

    /images/6ae50fef033b03cd0fff3336

After the dynamic group condition is updated, it waits in the queue to re-evaluate membership of the dynamic group. When the system starts evaluating the membership, dynamic group state changes to In progress and after evaluation completes, dynamic group state changes to Review & publish.

📘

Note

Until the re-evaluation of the dynamic group is completed and published, its current membership is not affected.

5. Review updated dynamic group

Select the dynamic group from the list to view its updated details in the side panel:

  • General setup: Dynamic group name, description, and status.
  • Condition set: Click View Details to review the updated attribute conditions.
  • Dynamic group membership: Shows the current active membership count before the evaluated updates are published.
  • Membership evaluation: Evaluation status (Updates ready to publish), along with evaluation start and completion date and time.
/images/6ae51010ed5cf7b1033a9315

Click Review & publish (from the details side panel or directly from the dynamic groups list) to inspect the membership changes:

  • User(s) added
    View the list of users who get added to the dynamic group.

    /images/6ae51030a1175034caa948b8

  • User(s) removed
    View the list of users who get removed from the dynamic group.

    /images/6ae51051d99ebd0140de12e9

6. Publish or discard updated dynamic group

After reviewing the membership changes, choose to either publish or discard the updates:

  • Publish dynamic group
    Click Publish to apply the evaluated changes. The dynamic group status changes to Active, and the updated membership count is reflected in the side panel.

    /images/6ae51071547dbff7de33f5a2

    /images/6ae51092bba7ed13b68e685a

  • Discard changes
    Click Discard Changes at the bottom of the details side panel, then select Discard in the confirmation prompt. The dynamic group reverts to its previous state and membership before the update.

    /images/6ae510b3c2825907f37f34bf

7. Re-evaluate dynamic group membership

Re-evaluate the dynamic group if a discrepancy is observed in membership evaluation due to system issues.

/images/6ae510d434f1a7a4f9d92bf5

There are two ways to re-evaluate dynamic group membership from the UI:

  • From the main screen
    Click the Actions menu icon ( ⋮ ) from the Dynamic groups screen and select Reevaluate.

    /images/6ae510f52631691e59527349

  • From the side panel
    Click the specific dynamic group record from the Dynamic groups screen. From the opened side-panel, click the Reevaluate icon.

    /images/6ae51115d536e2b8a095be5b

Re-evaluation is allowed only if the dynamic group status is one of the following:

  • Draft
  • Failed
  • Active
  • Active & Draft
  • Active & Failed

After re-evaluation is triggered, the system re-computes the membership based on current user attributes and dynamic group conditions. After re-evaluation completes, review the dynamic group membership changes and then publish or discard the updates as needed.

8. Delete dynamic group

Click the Actions menu icon ( ⋮ ) from the Dynamic groups screen and select Delete dynamic group. Deletion is supported across all statuses, including Waiting, In progress, Review & publish, and Active.

/images/6ae5113684e9ea2d43603e71 /images/6ae511567c8f84c383aadb96

9. Change in dynamic group membership based on user life cycle

  • User on-boarding in IBM Verify
    User membership is evaluated based on conditions defined for the dynamic group and user profile attributes, and the user is added to applicable dynamic groups.

  • Change in user profile
    User membership is re-evaluated based on updated user profile attributes against defined dynamic group conditions. The user is added to applicable dynamic groups, and removed from dynamic groups whose conditions are no longer met.

  • User off-boarding from IBM Verify
    User is removed from all dynamic groups as part of user off-boarding.

  • User profile view
    Navigate to Identities -> Users & groups -> Users -> Select a user -> Click View full profile -> Locate Dynamic Groups section to view the assigned dynamic groups.

    /images/6ae51177331550154bd3f38b

10. Re-evaluate user's dynamic groups

Re-evaluate a user's dynamic groups if a discrepancy is observed in their assigned dynamic groups due to system issues.

Navigate to Identities -> Users & groups -> Users -> Select a user -> Click View full profile -> Locate Dynamic Groups section -> Click the Reevaluate icon.

/images/6ae5119757b00c4ac185bdcf

After re-evaluation is triggered, the system re-evaluates all dynamic group conditions against the user's current profile attributes. Any additions or removals are directly updated and reflected in the user profile.

💎

Ayushi Dewangan, IBM Security


Did this page help you?